Rising London jazz star Moses Boyd will release his debut album, 'Dark Matter', on February 14.

The Valentine's Day release sees Boyd take over the reins as a producer and band leader, with contributions from the likes of Joe Armon Jones, Obongjayar, Klein, Nubya Garcia and his mentor, Gary Crosby OBE.

Read this next: Check out a new film celebrating London's jazz scene

Discussing the album, Boyd says, "I still love jazz but this is something different. There's been no pressure or expectation of anything. There was no immediate need to do anything, so I was really free. A very liberating experience."

He continues, "It's a very produced record. Many different sounds, setups, places and music taken from different places and sessions but I feel like finally it sounds like I'm a producer that also plays jazz."

Read this next: Joe Armon-Jones to release 'Turn to Clear View' next month

You can pre-order the project, and grab tickets for his forthcoming 2020 UK/EU tour, here.

1. Stranger Than Fiction
2. Hard Food Interlude
3. B.T.B
4. Y.O.Y.O
5. Shades Of You (ft. Poppy Ajudha)
6. Dancing In The Dark (ft. Obongjayar)
7. Only You
8. 2 Far Gone (ft. Joe Armon Jones)
9. Nommos Descent (ft. Nonku Phiri)
10. What Now?

James Ball is Mixmag's Weekend Editor. Follow him on Twitter

Read this next: Get the best of Mixmag direct to your Facebook DMs

Moses Boyd will drop 'Dark Matter' next February
Load the next article