Sven Väth has announced his first new “solo” album in nearly 20 years. Titled Catharsis, the LP was produced with Gregor Tresher, a well-respected producer and part of the Cocoon family.

The album came about when the pandemic mostly halted his constant touring and marathon sets. Catharsis then seeks to explore the spiritual connection between dancing, music and the body.

"Dancing is a conversation between body and soul and it spiritually connects us with each other,” explains Väth. He also draws upon his lengthy career that has spanned decades.

Recommended Articles

Sven Vath

Sven Väth Announces First Solo Album In Almost 20 Years 'Catharsis'

Markus Guentner (2021) - Self portrait

Interview: German Producer Markus Guetner Talks New Album 'Extropy,' Ambient Music & More

From Raver to Gamer 2021 Holiday Game Guide

From Raver to Gamer: 2021 Holiday Game Guide

"My imagination for this record was fueled by the many cultural experiences and encounters I have had in my life,” explains Väth. “They gave me the strength to find a way, the way to myself."

Catharsis covers house, techno, progressive and more over its 13 tracks. Catharsis will be released on February 25, 2022 via Cocoon. Pre-order the LP on the Cocoon website, which also has short previews of each song and see the tracklist below.


1. What I Used to Play
2. The Worm
3. The Inner Voice
4. Catharsis
5. Feiern
6. Mystic Voices
7. Being In Love
8. Butoh
9. Nyx
10. The Cranes of Gangtey Valley
11. We Are
12. Silvi’s Dream
13. Panta Rhei