Omar Apollo has shared new single ‘Less Of You’ – taking from from his upcoming second album ‘God Said No’.

‘Less Of You’ sees the Indiana-born singer taking a new musical direction, and it’s inspired by his experiences of nightlife in London while he was recording ‘God Said No’. It follows the singles ‘Spite’ and ‘Dispose Of Me’.

‘God Said No’ was produced by Teo Halm and features Mustafa and Pedro Pascal. The title is Apollo’s interpretation of the phrase ‘Lo que sera, sera’, translating to ‘Whatever will be, will be’ or ‘Is it what it is’.


Released on June 28 , the album looks back on a relationship, and Apollo borrowed the title from a comment his friend made while processing the relationship: “I gave it my everything, and God said no.”

It was born from the time just after Apollo released his debut album ‘Ivory’, embarked on a headline tour, and supported both SZA and Billie Eilish. Apollo stayed in London for three months in the Autumn, listening to artists including Kate Bush, Labi Siffre, and Lana del Rey, and reading the poems of Mary Oliver, Victoria Chang, and Ocean Vuong.

NME gave ‘Ivory’ a four-star review, calling it “a collection of gorgeous, sultry songs” and saying, “The Indiana-raised star’s storytelling flair combines with emotionally rich alt-R&B, funk-pop and indie on this long-awaited debut.”

Omar Apollo’s ‘God Said No’ tracklisting is:

1. ‘Be Careful With Me’
2. ‘Spite’
3. ‘Less of You’
4. ‘Done With You’
5. ‘Plane Trees’ (ft. Mustafa)
6. ‘Drifting’
7. ‘Empty’
8. ‘Life’s Unfair’
9. ‘Against Me’
10. ‘While U Can’
11. ‘Dispose of Me’
12. ‘How’
13. ‘Pedro’
14. ‘Glow’

Apollo has also announced a new 29-date tour, which begins in Indiana and sees him travel through the US and Canada with support from Kevin Abstract, Malcolm Todd, and Ravyn Lenae. Visit here for tickets and more information.

The post Omar Apollo shares new single ‘Less Of You’ – inspired by London nightlife appeared first on NME.