Willow has premiered a new track, ‘Run!’, live during her recent performance for NPR’s Tiny Desk – watch the performance below.

For the penultimate track of her five-song performance, Willow pulled out a brand new track without introduction. Titled ‘Run!’, the track is due to appear on her upcoming sixth studio album, ‘Empathogen’.

‘Run!’ kicks off with whispery vocals that build into a frantic funk tune, led predominantly by groovy bass lines and supporting percussion, guitars and keys. Towards the end of the track, Willow and her backing band slow things down to an almost meditative tempo.

Watch Willow perform ‘Run!’ as part of her Tiny Desk debut below.


Elsewhere during her performance, Willow also performed two other tracks from the upcoming record – ‘Symptom Of Life’ and ‘Big Feelings’. She also played ‘Split’ and ‘Wait a Minute’.

Willow’s sixth album, ‘Empathogen’, is set for release on Friday, May 3 and is available for pre-order/pre-save. The album has been previewed by its two lead singles ‘Symptom Of Life’ and ‘Big Feelings’. ‘Empathogen’ will see Willow collaborate with Jon Batiste on ‘Home’ as well as St. Vincent on ‘Pain For Fun’.

The LP will follow 2022’s ‘COPINGMECHANISM’. In a four-star review of the album, NME shared: “Over a relatively small number of tracks compared to some of the bloated albums that get released today, WILLOW has opted for quality over quantity once again.”


It continued: “However, despite utilising a similar premise as on her last album by plucking her feelings away on a guitar, ‘’ is still an important record in her musical progression. In the poetic and thoughtful nature of it, as well as the odd glimpse of where she could go next, WILLOW’s fifth record should be noted as her breaking sonically mature new ground.”

The post Willow premieres funky new track ‘Run!’ during ‘Tiny Desk’ performance appeared first on NME.