Twenty One Pilots have announced they are delaying the release of ’Clancy’ so they can make music videos for every track on the album.

The Columbus duo’s sixth LP – which is the follow-up to 2021’s ‘Scaled and Icy’ – was originally due to drop on May 17 via Fueled By Ramen.

But in a new video posted to frontman Tyler Joseph’s X account, it is confirmed that the date has been moved back a week to May 24.

“When I first told Josh and Mark and everyone on our team that I wanted to do a music video for every song on the album ‘Clancy’ that’s coming out, I told them it’s because I love these songs and I believe in them enough to pretend to sing in front of a camera for each one,” he said.

“But in order to accomplish that, we need a little bit more time, that’s why I’m making this video. We’re going to push the album back by one week to May 24. Isn’t that exciting! Just a little more time,” he added.

They first announced their intention to record videos for every track on ‘Clancy’ in March. Lead single ‘Overcompensate’, meanwhile, was released back in February, alongside its video, which you can watch below:


At the time, Joseph revealed that the duo had already finished work on eight of the music videos, with seven more in the pipeline.

While the album is only set to feature 13 tracks, the musician confirmed that the two extra videos come from them re-shooting one that was already finished, and that one of the songs will have “two versions”.

That being said, not all of the videos are set to be as cinematic as that of the lead single, with Joseph confirming that others on the tracklist will take more of a “lower budget DIY” approach.

The ‘Clancy’ tracklist is:

1. ‘Overcompensate’
2. ‘Next Semester’
3. ‘Midwest Indigo’
4. ‘Routines In The Night’
5. ‘Backslide’
6. ‘Vignette’
7. ‘The Craving (Jenna’s Version)’
8. ‘Lavish’
9. ‘Navigating’
10. ‘Snap Back’
11. ‘Oldies Station’
12. ‘At the Risk Of Feeling Dumb’
13. ‘Paladin Strait’

The band are also going on a huge world tour, taking in the UK, Europe, the Us and Australia in 2024 and 2025. Find all the information here.

In other Twenty One Pilots news, Shania Twain spoke to NME last year and opened up about her experience working with Joseph, after he joined her for the track ‘The Hardest Stone’ – taken from her sixth album ‘Queen of Me’.

“I am such a huge fan of his,” she said. “I was very happy and very lucky to get his time to do it. And he did a fabulous job, I’m very proud of him as an artist and I’m very proud of the job he did on ‘The Hardest Stone’, [it’s] one of my favourites on the album.”

The post Twenty One Pilots to delay album release to give time to make videos for every song appeared first on NME.