Nils Frahm has detailed a new album Old Friends New Friends that will be released next month. The project is a retrospective look at music he has made over the past 12 years, but largely never released. He gathered together 23 solo piano tracks recorded between 2009 and 2021. He has released the first song from it "All Numbers End" today.

The project will act as neither an album nor a compilation, according to Frahm. He says it is “an anatomy of all my ways of thinking musically and playing.”

Recommended Articles

Nils Frahm

Nils Frahm Details Retrospective, Double Piano Album 'Old Friends New Friends'

Good Room

Brooklyn's Good Room Hosting Fundraiser Events To Avoid Potential Eviction


Hot Plugins Fall 2021: Black Rooster Spring Verb, Goodhertz Tupe, Softube Overstayer, Sonnox Claro

He wanted to find this material and put it out before it gets lost forever.

“The nature of the mind – and a hard drive – is that you forget a lot of stuff,” he says, “and I hate the idea that somebody might browse through my things trying to find something I’d forgotten. I’ll probably burn everything before I go, but these are pieces I wanted to put out. So this is an original ‘Nils Frahm’, so to speak, not somebody curating a leftover meal.”

The project is 23 tracks in total, so there will be plenty to digest with Old Friends New Friends. Nils Frahm’s label LEITER will release Old Friends New Friends on December 3. Pre-order now.


1. 4:33 (A Tribute to John Cage)
2. Late
3. Berduxa
4. Rain Take
5. Todo Nada
6. Weddinger Walzer
7. In The Making
8. Further In The Making
9. All Numbers End
10. The Idea Machine
11. Then Patterns
12. Corn
13. New Friend
14. Nils Has A New Piano
15. Acting
16. As A Reminder
17. Iced Wood
18. Strickleiter
19. The Chords
20. The Chords (Broken Down)
21. Forgetmenot
22. Restive
23. Old Friend