Vancouver festival New Forms has announced the first wave of acts for its 2019 edition, which will take place September 25–29.

Canadian artists - including Ciel (pictured), D. Tiffany, Diana Boss, Minimal Violence, Overland and Venetta - will rub shoulders with international talent, such as Afrodeutsche, Aurora Halal, Debit, DJ Marcelle, Giant Swan, Kampire, Lafawndah, LSDXOXO, Nene H and Sherelle.

According to the press release, the artists who are part of New Forms 2019 "have founded, are leading or contributing to independent projects, clubs, labels, streaming and event platforms whose vibrancy and impact are predicated on a commitment to collective action and survival."

The festival, which celebrates its 19th anniversary, will take to Vancouver's historic neighbourhood of Railtown, with the Japanese Language School & Hall and the neighbouring Pace project and event space hosting the festival’s core events.

Vancouver festival New Forms reveals first wave of acts

James Ball is Mixmag's Weekend Editor. Follow him on Twitter

Read this next!

Get to know Ciel, the artist and promoter showcasing melodic, off-kilter electro and breakbeat
In Session: DJ Marcelle/Another Nice Mess
Mexican artist Debit marries tribal guarachero with techno and industrial on new EP and industrial on new EP

Load the next article